GM10 (2017)

10 Buildings

10 Boroughs

20th century Architecture in Greater Manchester
We challenged the public to seek out their top ten 20th century buildings in Greater Manchester, one from each Borough.
We posted suggestions on a dedicated website, adding a new borough to our site each week.
And in May and June of 2017 we took two bus trips to visit ten buildings across Greater Manchester, hurtling through five boroughs on each trip. Some are in fine fettle and in productive use, others are neglected and empty.

GM10 was a Modernist Society project and part of the Manchester Metropolitan University Humanities in Public Festival 2016/17

We visited: Turnpike Gallery, Leigh, Wigan; Lancaster Halls, Swinton, Salford; The Octagon Theatre, Bolton; Civic Centre / Queen Elizabeth Hall, Oldham; Hopwood Hall Chapel, Rochdale; St.Raphael the Archangel, Tameside; Stopford House, Stockport; Essoldo Cinema, Trafford; St. Nicholas Burnage, Manchester.

Greater Manchester is a metropolitan county in North West England, with a population of 2.8 million.It encompasses one of the largest metropolitan areas in the United Kingdom and comprises ten metropolitan boroughs: Bolton, Bury, Oldham, Rochdale, Stockport, Tameside, Trafford, Wigan, and the cities of Manchester and Salford. Greater Manchester was created on 1 April 1974 as a result of the Local Government Act 1972; and designated a City Region on 1 April 2011.

Thanks to:

Manchester Metropolitan University - Humanities in Public

Jacob Critchley

Helen Darby

Jack Hale

Eddy Rhead